You can view and manage existing users on the Users page in CONTROL PANEL. The Users page lists the existing users and services enabled for each user. You can also work with users and service settings if you click the Settings button under the respective service.

This article has the following sections:

Users Main

User Types

The icon next to the user's display name shows the type of user.

  • No icon - a regular user. The user does not have any specific properties set. The user is active, but can be removed; user settings can be changed; services can be enabled or disabled for this user (See Example User in the screenshot above.)
  • sp- SharePoint Owner. Once SharePoint is installed, all users can access the site, but only one user is the SharePoint Owner. This user cannot be removed. (See SharePoint Administrator in the screenshot above.)
  • dis- Disabled mailbox. When a mailbox is disabled, the user cannot log in to the mailbox until it is enabled by the administrator. (See Former Employee in the screenshot above.)
  • External User  - External $filesync user.

Go back to top

Managing user settings

You can set and manage user attributes and disable or enable services for individual users if you click on a user's display name. There are three blocks of settings you can edit for each user.

  • General User settings. These are settings common for all users. Click on a setting to change it.
    General Settings
  • Basic services. Use this area to enable basic services for the user. You can enable or disable services for selected users by clicking the appropriate tabs. Once enabled, settings related to each service can be adjusted in this area. See the description of services in the Managing services section of this article.
  • Optional servicesUse this section to enable optional services for the user. Once enabled, settings and service status will be available in this area.
    Basic and Optional services

Go back to top

Managing services

You can enable or disable services for selected users by clicking the appropriate tabs. Once services for users are set, click the Proceed button. On the next page, you will see the list of users and services you are going to enable. Click Confirm to proceed with the deletion.

Note: The availability of each of the services below depends on your plan.

  • Exchange Server: On this tab, you can enable or disable Exchange-related services by selecting the corresponding boxes.
    This includes:
    • Exchange: This service is mandatory to enable other services that rely on the Exchange server.
    • ActiveSync: Read the article on ActiveSync for more information.
    • BlackBerry®: Read the article on BlackBerry wireless service for more information.
    • User-based Email Encryption: Read the article on User-based Email Encryption for more information. Please, note, that disabling this service may cause irreversible loss of access to the previously encrypted messages unless you export the Secure Mail certificate for an original email address
  • POP/IMAP Mailboxes: Read the article on POP/IMAP Email for more information.
  • OWA-only Mailboxes: Read the article on OWA-only mailboxes for more information.
  • ShareSync: Use this tab to enable ShareSync service for the user.
  • $iamUse this tab to enable ConnectID service for the user.
  • Skype For Business: Use this tab to enable Skype for Business (Lync) service for the user.
  • SharePoint: Use this tab to install a SharePoint site.
  • POP/IMAP Mailboxes: Read the article on POP/IMAP Email for more information.

Go back to top

Using the Action menu

On each tab other than the Overview tab, there is an Action menu available. When you click Action, you get a list of common actions you can perform for the corresponding user, depending on which services are enabled. To view the full list of actions, click the down arrow at the bottom of the menu.

action

Go back to top

Deleting users

To delete users, select the boxes next to users you would like to remove and click Delete Selected Users button. On the next page, you will see the list of users you are going to delete and the services that will be disabled once users are deleted. Click Confirm to proceed with the deletion.
Delete

Note: The user cannot be deleted if one of these licenses is assigned to it:
- Office Apps
- User-Based Email Encryption
- SharePoint ownership
You will need to unassign these licenses and update the SharePoint ownership prior to the user deletion.

  • Disable a user - When a user is disabled through the CONTROL PANEL, you will no longer be able to access any data associated with it. The data will remain on the server indefinitely and can be accessed again by re-enabling the user.  

Note: Once the user is disabled, active sessions via Outlook and mobile devices may remain active for an unspecified period of time even though the account is disabled and/or the password is changed. This is due to the design of the Microsoft authentication tokens.

  • Disable a service - When you unassign a service for a user, he/she will no longer be able to access it or associated data. For some services, the data will be irrecoverable. Please, overview the associated service KB article from the section above before disabling the service.

Go back to top