ShareSync allows you to synchronize your phone gallery to the Pictures and Camera Upload folders. ShareSync mobile apps facilitate access to all backed up files and folders. To start using $Filesyn—Ā on mobile devices, download the app from the mobile store and log into it using the ShareSync login and password. Read our Knowledge Base article ShareSync: Mobile Apps for more information.

Important: due to the nature of iOS devices, the ShareSync app has to be open the entire time to fully sync photos and videos to the cloud. Background sync is currently not supported. This does not affect background sync on Android devices.

In order to access and modify the backup policies in ShareSync app, go to Settings on the left-side panel.

Android iOS

1. To start synchronizing the phone gallery via the ShareSync app:

Android iOS

Tap on the Camera upload drop-down menu:

  • Off - will not back up the phone gallery
  • All - will back up all existing and newly created files in the phone gallery
  • Only new - will only back up the files uploaded after the option has been turned on
  • Camera Upload (Off) - will not back up the phone gallery
  • Camera Upload (On) - will back up all existing and newly created files in the phone gallery 
  • Upload existing and new Gallery - will back up all existing and newly created files in the phone gallery

2. You can also select which type of files to synchronize:

Android iOS

Tap on the What to upload option

  • Photos and Videos - will upload both photos and videos to Pictures/Camera Uploads folder on ShareSync
    • Photos - will back up photos only

    Photos are backed up by default when Camera Upload is turned on

    • Upload Videoswill upload both photos and videos to Pictures/Camera Uploads folder on ShareSync


    3. To configure the most convenient way to back up the phone gallery:

    Android iOS

    Select How to upload

    • Wi-Fi onlywill upload content using Wi-Fi
    • Wi-Fi and Cellular datawill backup content using Wi-Fi and Cellular Data

    ShareSync will upload content using Wi-Fi only by default.

    • Use Cellular Data - will backup content using Wi-Fi and Cellular Data