You can share content with any external user, even if they haven't been added to your account by the account administrator.
Cross-organization sharing: If a user shares a folder with another user in a different organization, a regular share will be established instead of sending a web link.
Regular share cannot be established if:
- Organizations are on different PODs (ShareSync servers).
Servers can be found in ShareSync web:
- Sharing is not available between different platforms .
In two cases above App will suggest to share by sending a web link with the closest permission.
To share a folder or a file, click Share, type an email address for an external user, specify the level of permissions and click Share.
Note: The highest level of permissions you can set for external collaborator is Modify.
If account administrator allowed you to invite external collaborators you will see share status as has not accepted the invitation yet. If you were not enabled with Invite external users permission you will see pending admin approval status till administrator confirms your sharing invitation.
Use Reinvite option to resend sharing invitation.
The external user is going to receive the following notification and will need to create an account.
Such users are considered external collaborators. These users:
- can collaborate on files and folders you shared with them;
- can upload personal data to ShareSync, which will occupy account disk space;
- cannot share data that they uploaded.
There are 3 ways to stop collaborating on shared file or folder:
- File or folder Owner selects Stop share or clicks on Cross next to collaborator's name. Appropriate events will appear in the event log on the account (unshared).
- Select Leave share in desktop client or web interface. This action results in an event written to ShareSync event log on the account (stopped collaborating on).
- Delete a file or folder you collaborate on from your machine. When deleting, ShareSync will ask you to confirm that you are leaving a share. This option silently removes a share without any entries seen in the event log on the account.