Q: What is ShareSync?

  • ShareSync is a business-grade content collaboration platform that facilitates ubiquitous access to data through broad PC, Web and mobile platform support, sophisticated collaboration workflows, data backup, integration with Smarsh Hosted Services and 3rd party business apps – all bolstered by business-grade security and data-privacy architecture.

Q: Which platforms is ShareSync supported on?

    • Desktop Apps on Windows and Mac
    • Web Interface
    • Mobile Apps:
      • iPhone, iPad, iPod touch
      • Android 
      • BlackBerry
      • Windows Mobile

    For information on the supported versions read the Knowledge Base article On Which OS And Platforms Is ShareSync Working?

Q: How secure is my data on ShareSync?

  • Each connection from desktop, web, and mobile apps is authorized and authenticated.
  • Single Sign-On saves you from having to manage multiple passwords. Use your Smarsh Hosted Services Email address and password to log into ShareSync. Your data is fully isolated from other users' data.
  • All of your data is encrypted in TRANSIT using industry-standard 256-bit SSL/HTTPS encryption.
  • Each file is encrypted using industry-standard AES 256-bit encryption AT REST on our cloud.
  • Flexible permissions allow you to control who can edit, view, delete, and modify your content.

Q: How do I share a folder with a colleague?

  1. Select a folder in the ShareSync folder on your computer or the web interface, and choose the Share option. (i.e. right-click on a folder on Windows and Mac).
  2. Start typing the names of your collaborators in the sharing dialog, and leverage the auto-complete feature to quickly populate the list of names.
  3. Assign appropriate access permissions to each user.

Read the Knowledge Base article on ShareSync: Permission-Based Sharing for more information.

Q: Can I share sub-folders with a different set of collaborators than the parent folder?

  • Yes, ShareSync allows you to organize your files to your liking, and then share specific content with specific collaborators. If parent folder is shared with a user that already has permissions for a sub-folder:
    • New shared folder (if he/she accepts the invitation to share) appears on user's PC as a top-level folder
    • Sub-folder that was originally shared remains intact with the same permissions as it had before (e.g. ShareSync will not consolidate these folders or propagate permissions)

Q: What is the difference between View and Modify permissions?

  • View permissions allow collaborators to download (sync) and view shared content, but they cannot edit, create, or delete content in the folders where the 'View' permission has been granted.
  • Modify permissions allow collaborators download (sync), view, edit, create, and delete content in the folders where the 'Modify' permission has been granted. 

Q: How do I tell shared and private folders apart?

  • Desktop (Windows-only for now):
    • folder I own or have modify permissions on:
    • folder that I have View-only permissions on:
  • Web:
    • folder I own or have modify permissions on:
    • folder that I have View-only permissions on:

Q: How do I co-author files with collaborators?

  • You can lock a file for editing. While you are editing, no other collaborator can edit that file at the same time. You can unlock a file once your edits are in place to allow others to contribute to the file.
  • If multiple users co-author a file at the same time without 'locking' it, the first user who saves changes, saves into the original file. All other collaborators’ changes are saved into ‘conflict’ files (which are saved in the same folder as the original file) that contain the specific edits made by each user. These ‘conflict’ files can then be manually merged with the original file.

Read the Knowledge Base article on ShareSync: Conflict Management for more information.

Q: What happens to files when I or a collaborator deletes them from ShareSync?

  • Deleted files are moved to the ShareSync Recycle Bin. They can be accessed via ShareSync Web using the Show deleted files option.
  • Each deleted file and folder is displayed using 'Grayed-out' icons and can be easily distinguished.
  • Each file and folder can be restored from the Recycle Bin back to ShareSync.
  • Deleted files will be retained indefinitely during the beta.

Q: How do I share files with partners, customers, and all other external parties?

  • Send Link option in Web and Desktop allows you to create a secure web link which can be shared with just about anyone. Recipients do not need to be ShareSync subscribers to access the content.
  • External users can be invited to subscribe to ShareSync. Read the Knowledge Base article on ShareSync: Collaborative Folder Sharing With External Users (User Guide) for more information.

Q: How long are web links active for?

  • Web-links never expire.

Q: How can ShareSync help me share large files securely?

  • Send Link option allows you to share files of any size. Files larger than the maximum size supported by the email system (e.g. 50 MB) can be shared by simply sharing a web link that points to the large file on the ShareSync cloud.

Q: How do I view past versions of a file?

  • Versioning is currently available via ShareSync Web. It can be accessed from the dropdown menu next to each file or by clicking the ‘Versioning’ icon in the main file view.

Q: What is the maximum file size supported by ShareSync?

  • Windows Desktop Client: 4 TB
  • Mac Desktop Client: 2 TB

Q: How can I tell how much time is required for synchronization of content to my computer to complete?

  • Windows: Either right-click on the ShareSync system tray icon or simply hover over it. The client will show status for both uploads and downloads.
  • Mac: double-click on the ShareSync icon on the menu bar or hover over it. The client will show status for both uploads and downloads.

Q: Why do I get prompts when I try to create a folder or move an item from one folder to another on Windows machine?

  • Windows environment has file path limitation set to 260 characters. If you create a file in ShareSync Web Client in a location which has larger path than this number of characters (including the file name), you may see that overlay icons disappeared on your PC for this folder and the created file.
  • If you try to move this file from one folder to another via desktop, you may see the following disclaimer:
    The file name(s) would be too long for the destination folder. You can shorten the name and try again, or try a location that has a shorter path.

    You won't be able to move the file via desktop, use ShareSync Web Client for that purpose.
  • If you try to create a new file in the same folder via desktop, you may see the following disclaimer:
    The folder name you are creating is too long.
    Try again using a shorter name or create the folder in a location that has a shorter path.

    In this case, we do not recommend to create the files in this directory.