This article reviews several the most common scenarios on how to manage ShareSync disk space:
- Your ShareSync account is out of disk space
- Move or rename folders
- User no longer works in the organization
If you have received a storage alert that ShareSync is out of space, there are two ways to manage the disk space:
If you are planning to use ShareSync in the future, it is recommended to purchase additional disk space. To do that log in to CONTROL PANEL > Services > ShareSync > Storage Management > select appropriate Storage Package > Save changes.
By default ShareSync saves all files versions and deleted items. In case you received ShareSync storage alert, you can manage your files and delete unnecessary files and folders. There are two ways of doing that:
- You can purge the files/folders via Admin File Management. To do that: log in to CONTROL PANEL> Services > ShareSync > Manage&Restore Files > Login to ShareSync as Admin > select deleted file/folder > Permanently Delete. For more details refer to the Knowledge Base article on ShareSync: Admin File Management.
- You can change the ShareSync retention policy settings, so the end-users can purge their data. To do that: log in to CONTROL PANEL> Services > ShareSync > Settings > Retentions policy > uncheck the Users cannot permanently delete files&folders checkbox > Save changes. Read the Knowledge Base article on Managing ShareSync Settings
In case the folder was moved to another location or renamed, it will be deleted and a new folder will be created. To avoid the ShareSync disk space overuse you can purge the old folder via Admin File Management or the end users can purge it from their ShareSync accounts.
If the user left the organization and his ShareSync account is deleted, the data associated with this user will still remain on the server. You can purge the data from the deleted users via Admin File Management. To do that: log in to CONTROL PANEL> Services > ShareSync > Manage&Restore Files > Login to ShareSync as Admin > select deleted user > apply 'Deleted Items' filter. You can permanently delete the data from this page.