The current version of ShareSync supports the Restore functionality for both live and deleted folders.
Restore option is available for:
- end-users with Owner/Co-Owner and Modify permissions
for all top-level folders (My ShareSync, Desktop, Documents, etc) and their subfolders. Several files / folders can be restored at the same time.
To restore a deleted folder and its content:
- Click Deleted Items under Filters
- Click Restore next to the name of the folder / file you want to restore:
For detailed instructions on how to restore deleted files and folders refer to the Knowledge Base article ShareSync: Restore Deleted Files
To restore content in the live folder:
- Select the file / folder to restore
- Click Actions > Restore
- Select the date and time of the restore and click Restore:
There are 2 options for content restore in the live folders:
- Roll back - The state of the files and folders will be rolled back to selected date and time. Files and folders deleted after the restore date and time will be restored. Files and folders created after restore date and time will be deleted.
- Restore deleted files only - The files and folders deleted after the selected restore date and time will be restored. Pick a date and time just before the deletion event to restore the deleted content. Files and folders created and deleted after restore date and time will not be restored.
The following scenarios describe the scope of Restore feature:
- Restore content which was deleted after selected restore date and time
Example: file A was deleted on 1/2/2019. 1/1/2019 was selected as the restore date. File A will be restored.
- Restore the latest version of the file that was saved before the selected restore date and time
Example: file A was created on 1/1/2019 (Version 1 of the file). It was modified on 1/3/2019 (Version 2 of the file). 1/2/2019 was selected as the restore date. Version 1 will be restored, and all 3 versions of the file will be available under Versions.
- Delete files / folders created after the selected restore date and time. They can be restored from the Recycle Bin at any time by ShareSync Admin.
Example: file A was created 1/2/2019. 1/1/2019 was selected as the restore date. File A will be deleted
- live shares created before or after the restore won't be affected.
- renamed folders will have the names reverted back if you perform Restore.
- restore doesn't affect permissions.