- The difference between Disabled user, Deleted Exchange mailbox and Deleted user
- Disabling a user
- Deleting a mailbox
- Deleting a user
- If you disable a user, the Active Directory object remains untouched together with the mailbox data and properties, but you will not be able to access any mailbox data. To disable the user: go to CONTROL PANEL > Users > click on user > User Info > Disable User.
- If an Exchange mailbox is deleted, the user loses all data and attributes associated with Exchange mailbox, though the Active Directory object and the email address still remain in the system. To delete Exchange mailbox: CONTROL PANEL > Users > click on user > Exchange > Delete Exchange mailbox.
- If you delete a user, the Active Directory object is removed together with all data and properties of the user.
Please note that in either case, it can take several hours after re-enabling a mailbox for the status change of the mailbox to propagate throughout Active Directory and allow the mailbox to be available again.
- Mailboxes disabled in CONTROL PANEL When a mailbox is disabled through CONTROL PANEL, you will no longer be able to access any data associated with it. The data will remain on the server indefinitely and can be accessed again by enabling the mailbox. Disabled email accounts are able to receive email. The mailbox will continue to be counted in the total number of mailboxes on your account, and the space used by that mailbox will still be included in the total disk space for your account.
Note: Once the user is disabled active sessions via Outlook and mobile devices remain active until the connection is reset by switching network connection or power-cycling.
- To disable or enable a mailbox, navigate to CONTROL PANEL > Services > Exchange Mailboxes. Click on the user's display name, then click Disable User.
- Mailboxes disabled automatically because of size If a mailbox is disabled due to exceeding the set Storage Management Limit for the mailbox, it will be enabled again automatically when you do one of the following:
- Increase the allowed disk space for that mailbox through Storage Management.
- Reduce the contents of the mailbox to be within the established size limit
How to use Storage Management on Exchange account
This feature availability may depend on your plan.
If an Exchange mailbox is deleted, the user loses all data and attributes associated with Exchange mailbox, though the Active Directory object and the email address still remain in the system. To delete an Exchange mailbox, navigate to CONTROL PANEL > Services > Exchange Mailboxes, uncheck the box next to the mailbox under Exchange Mailbox and click Proceed.
Note: For 30 days, the mailbox with all the data in it is still stored on the server. During these 30 days, the mailbox can be reconnected to another user object and all the functionality of the mailbox can be restored (client access, management through CONTROL PANEL, etc.). Please contact Technical Support to get information on how you can reconnect a mailbox.
After 30 days, if the mailbox has not been reconnected, it is purged.
If you delete a user, the Active Directory object is removed together with all data and properties of the user. To delete a user, navigate to CONTROL PANEL > Users, check the box next to the user and click Delete Selected Users and then Confirm.
Note: if a user had Exchange service enabled, Exchange data can be restored during the next 30 days. Read the Deleting a mailbox section for more information.